Home Career & Education

Getting my foot in as an artist trouble..........HELP!!!

chrishircock
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
chrishircock polycounter lvl 5
hello artists, I am an artist who wants to get a job as a character artist. But I am having trouble of getting my foot into the industry sadly. I'm currently doing a masters in game technology as a 3D artist pushing to be a character artist. Been trying to get a job before my course ends but no success with replays saying I don't have the skills they are looking for. I have a tablet game already out on google play called Astral Switch which I was the character artist and animator for the game and currently working on a PS4 project for the course as mainly a character artist and 3D modeller. Need help with some feedback and tips please. I would greatly appreciate it thanks.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=uk.ac.bcu.gamercamp.astralswitchrelease&hl=en_GB 

https://chrishirkill.artstation.com/ 

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    I appreciate you've gotten actual game assets done.  Your games help to further prove that fortunately.

I don't like your design sense.  I have a feeling you designed most of the characters yourself.  It could be stronger, and/or use more appealing original concepts.

You texturing overall leaves me wanting.  For the realistic characters, it doesn't seem to be enough.  No fabric normals for the fabric threading.  For the cartoon characters, no addition to the flat coloration.  I want more depth from your textures.  I want more body, and maybe just simplisitically, more complication.

Logan 5's skin looks more oily than skin like. Hair cards should definitely be more feathery.

Tactician needs more feathery hair cards and it should not be shadowing on itself so harshly.  The concept seems weak.