Home Career & Education

Looking for a Career switch and have questions - 3D Game Art Institute Bootcamp

Grykus_762
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Grykus_762 polycounter lvl 4
Good morning all,

This is my first post here so I apologize ahead of time if I'm posting in the wrong area. I originally posted this on reddit and one of the more experienced users mentioned that Polycount would be much better for professional advice. I appreciate any and all answers people can provide.

TLDR at the bottom. Sorry for the wall of text.

BACKGROUND:

Currently I’m an engineer working at a very large company. Now that I’ve been out of college and have paid off my debts, I’ve had the freedom to do things I haven’t normally been able to in the past. In doing so I [re]discovered my love for both art and videogames. I always promised my younger self that I would find my way into the digital entertainment industry. Having gone to PAX multiple times now and seeing that it's possible to pursue a career doing what I've dreamed of, I’ve decided that I don’t want to be miserable in a career doing something I really don’t enjoy. I want to make the career switch into 3D modeling.

I’ve been learning and teaching myself modeling on blender, sculpting in Zbrush, and even texturing in Substance. All as a hobbyist now for quite some time. With this push to further my abilities and break into the industry I did research to figure out what more I could do. I enrolled in the CG Master Academy program to do the 2D fundamentals courses and then plan to follow-up and do the 3D courses. Reason being is that I’ve seen from several posts and sites just how important the fundamentals are in being a good artist.

MAIN QUESTION:

While doing research I also came across Ryan Kingslien’s Game Art Institute which contains a few ‘bootcamp’ programs revolving around 3D environment art as well as 3D character modeling. My main question is: