Home Career & Education

Australian Universities?

GGYUC
vertex
Offline / Send Message
GGYUC vertex
Hi I am an aspiring game artist/programmer (I like both, but the art part is my favourite). I have seen a lot of people on the forums from RMIT and other universities and I would like to know what your experience or opinion on different courses or universities's (or any other pathways) that you took to become a professional game artist (or developer). 

My plan is to go to RMIT and do a Bachelor of IT (games and graphics programming) or a Bachelor of Game Design. Any input is welcome.

Replies

• Bletzkarn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
    Eeach course is different - my advice is to find out what technical skills you will be learning, go to graduate shows (if they have any) and/or find examples of their final year work. Is it impressive or disappointing?

I did some courses, like a viz course, which was amazing. Learnt digital and analouge sketching, rhino3D, coral draw and a lot of theory around visualisation. I then did a graphics design course - completely worthless. Totally theory, spent most of the time redesigning book covers and magazines, was never taught how to use photoshop or illustrator. 
  • GGYUC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GGYUC vertex
    @Bletzkarn
    Thanks, I have researched quite a few different places and courses and I'm attending open days as they come up. Ill definitely ask the teachers for examples of past work and ill take a look see on the internet for what I can find. I really want to learn 3D prop design and programming (in game context).
  • GGYUC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GGYUC vertex