Home Career & Education

Advice for a newbie!

null
Offline / Send Message
Casynova null
Hi All,

I'm in my first year of college on my journey to become a 3D Game Artist. I am currently going to Full Sail University to get my Bachelor's in Game Art and they even introduced forums like polycount and ZbrushCentral to join a community where I can grow. So here I am! I'm such a newbie I don't even have a picture on polycount and don't have a portfolio just yet. (My school provides portfolio classes.)

I have not had previous 3D modeling experience before school, so I am jumping in brand new and I am ready to practice, practice, practice.

The main questions I have as a newbie are:
What would be the steps (during school) should I take in order to get experience for a future career?
What steps should I take after school?
Should I pursue a Master's after my Bachelor's or would that be a waste of time and money?
Advice in general to become the best artist I can be?

Replies

• Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    Welcome!

The best piece of advice I can offer for someone just starting out is to explore and try new things! Find what you really like to do and then focus your efforts on improving in that area outside of the classroom. You won't know what you really enjoy until you try different things. 

Do what you can to pass your classes and assignments, but realize that to make it in the industry, it's going to require you to dig deep and take it upon yourself to find and learn more than what's being covered in the classroom. Spend time improving and working on personal pieces outside the classroom.

All the best! :smile:

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Work on a game and try to get it shipped.    Like now.  Don't wait for a class.