Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First time ZBrush hard surface sculpting - help needed

cyan3d
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
cyan3d null
Hello, I'm a 3D artist. Recently I've started using ZBrush. I chose an antique bowl to model and sculpt. I modeled in Maya and sculpted so far in ZBrush.

Can you please tell me where I can find good references to sculpt good details on this kind of objects? Searched through the internet, didn't find anything on sculpting edge, wear, damage details. So I added some randomly. If any tutorial about sculpting edge damage, wear, details etc please give me the link.

I added my WIP screenshot, please make some critics about the shape, form and details I've added. What's wrong and what will make it better. Thanks

Replies

• pmiller001
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pmiller001 greentooth
    There's not really a "how to" on realistic detail. Its mainly observation, and building that memory library through experience. 
    I'd say choose a bowl and model it to the reference . Quick pinterest search gave me a bowl like this. 

To me the bowl doesnt have as many Tarnishes(correct word?) as yours does, and the   embossed decals on the side dont come out near as far. 
  • cyan3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cyan3d null
    Hi, thanks for your suggestion. I will follow what you said :smile:
  • Beard3D Bandit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Beard3D Bandit polycounter lvl 7
    what I would do is start with something simple like bricks. find some nice close-up references and try sculpting some bricks. 

Once you're more familiar with using zbrush adn you've checked the official tutorials, have a look at how other artists are using their brushes 9 times out of 10, they're all using similar brushes to create brick/stones (trim brushes etc.) they'll also be making the most of alphas etc to help put puck marks and stuff for the larger detail.