Home Technical Talk

Making Tangent space normals completely override the mesh's normals?

johngloid
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
johngloid polycounter lvl 17
I'm new to the world of normal mapping. I'm looking at normal maps to fix some really bad mesh normals on a corrective blend shape. I'm using UE4, but this would apply to any game engine, I imagine.

Tangent space normals haven't worked out initially, since they don't override the underlying mesh normals. Seems more like a blending effect with the mesh normals and the normal map. Object space sounds like what I want, as it'll totally override the mesh's normals, but it's not supposed to be used with deformable meshes. Except for this on Polycount: 

Rainbow colors. Objects can rotate, but usually shouldn't be deformed, unless the shader has been modified to support deformation. Object-space is also called local-space or model-space.

Is there a way to completely override the mesh's normals using a tangent normal map somehow? That seems like the path to least resistance. Or possibly a way to make object space normal maps more deformation friendly?

Replies

• throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Object space would be the way to go, I don't know the details of using it on a deformable mesh, other than that it can be done. These maps are essentially absolute in that they totally define the normals. However, you'd be in a position of either trying to paint or sculpt in such a hacky way that it would be difficult to get a good result. You could potentially paint a correction in a tangent space map, but again it's a bit of guesswork and you're still adding overhead by adding another texture for the shader to blend.

Is it possible to redo the geometry to support the blend shape or could the morph be done better? Is this blend fixing a common motion, or some one-off animation that's only going to be visible for a moment in a cutscene? Garbage in, garbage out.
  • pior
    Options