Home Career & Education

Jobs and Internships in China

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
tzeentch polycounter lvl 2
Hello fellow polycounters,

I am really curious about your opinions on living and working in China (as a foreigner). I am considering applying for an internship there myself.

Is it possible to find a job without knowing Mandarin? Of course, I am considering taking classes, but I doubt I will be able to speak in a level suitable for a working environment by the time I get there.

And, frankly, what are my chances there as a european student (22)?

Replies

• Kyetja
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kyetja polycounter lvl 7
    I have no personal experience working in China, but one of my classmates did an internship there as environment artist, I sat down with him to look at jobs at the time and most actually list fluent English as part of the qualifications. Especially in major cities and special zones like Hong Kong it's quite common to find English speaking jobs apparently. 

Your chances should be comparable to others as long as your portfolio is up to scratch, you might have to find a place to stay for yourself though. I did an internship abroad last year and they pointed me in the right direction regarding living and visa stuff, but in the end you might need to figure that out yourself, in that case speaking the local language is a plus.

There are some internships here:
    https://orcahq.com/jobs?country=China&kind=Internship

• PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    @Kwramm could probably lend some info, works at virtuous in china I believe.

in the long term getting familiar with china could only be an asset. Anyone overlooking it is shooting themselves in the foot.

• tzeentch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tzeentch polycounter lvl 2
    Thanks for your thoughts. Yes, I did my research and they're pretty strict on visa conditions.
  • Kwramm
    Options