Home Career & Education

Environment Art Grad Programs

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
brettmarshalltucker polycounter lvl 2
Hello, everyone!

I am a fine artist working in Brooklyn at a studio where we make sculpture out of Lego bricks. While I was incredibly lucky to score this job, it isn't what I want in a career. I have a BFA in sculpture but I work in my free time learning to make 3D assets using Maya, Substance and Unreal. I also know Blender and ZBrush pretty well and Unity somewhat. I've picked up some unpaid freelance work over the 10 months that I've been into this and have learned a lot but I feel as though there is so much that I don't know and can't really learn from tutorials and small groups with poor communication. I've learned everything I know from the lynda.com tutorials, which are amazing, but don't replace the classroom environment.

Now that you know where I'm coming from, help me find what I'm looking for! My research has found many programs, all of which seem to focus on coding and game development principles. I would love to find one that focuses on asset creation, texturing, destruction, physics and maybe even effects and things like that. While I don't mind learning how to code, I don't want to go into the design aspect as much as I want to learn about the art. Since I already have a degree in Fine Arts, there is potential that I could get a job with a strong enough portfolio but you can't beat the networking and problem solving that come with school. It would be worth it to me to spend two or three years really nailing down what I know and learning how to best apply it.

Location doesn't matter. I'm from WV and have moved to KS, ME and now NY in pursuit of my work and am never afraid to follow it elsewhere. Please hit me with any recommendations for schools, programs or general advice about why this is or isn't a good plan.

Thanks!

Replies

• beefaroni
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool