Home Career & Education

Frustration Issues

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Alchemical polycounter lvl 6
Hey everybody, first post on here, bear with me! TL:DR at the bottom.

I am a student currently doing a Generalist-course, geared towards work in the Animation/Video Game industry, set on becoming a Designer/Concept Artist though I dabble in a bit of everything and Im open-minded to change.

I've been set on my goal of becoming an artist since I was 18 and I am now 22, safe to say I am nowhere near to work professionally but I hope I can get there through hard work.

Link to my blog: http://redlikedusk.tumblr.com/page/1

Now onto my troubles:

A problem that has persisted for such a long time is early-work frustration, I keep deleting, re-doing all early work due to getting frustrated early on.
Whether it be me being overly perfectionist, something not adding up or what have you. This has severly affected my ability to churn out work, there are more PSD files of ideas not even getting past the sketching-stage on my harddrive than actual WIPs and image-files and this also stops me from getting a feel for what process feels best. If I get past the early-stages, Im having a blast and the work goes likea breeze. Working past my frustration only produces what I consider sub-par of what I normally produce. I want to overcome this but I dont know how. I understand not every work (most work) is gonna be perfect and Im gonna be happy, but I'd do good to rid me of this unnecessary frustration.