Home Career & Education

CGMA 3D courses worth it?

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Shylock polycounter lvl 2
Im a sophomore in college (Studying graphics design because that's all they offer in terms of computer related art), and I was wanting to start getting some formal base education about 3D environment art.

Since I'm already use to the structured class setting, I was wanting to begin the 3D environment art program at CMGA. I'm aware that taking some classes won't make me a master in anything, but I want to get a good base knowledge of my tools and the processes, so that when I finish the course, I can begin to hone my skills and eventually make a portfolio.
So I thought the gradual program and structured courses taught there by professionals would be my best option.

I'm only concerned about if those who took some courses there (it doesn't have to be specifically the ones i'm talking about) and if you thought it was worth the cost of the course. I'm not too concerned about the price since the whole program is worth a semester at the school I'm attending now, I just want to know if it's worth the money, and if not, I will look into other sources of education. 

By the way, I'm not saying I need the class structure to get me to actually work, I've just always had strong progression when done that way.

I would much rather spend the money on a class taught by someone who has the experience in the industry, than taking the special topics 3D printing class taught by a professor with a MFA in Painting.. :neutral:

Replies

• Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool
    I did the Marvelous Designer course with John Gotch and had the Hair Creation for Games booked, though this one got ditched since Frank Tzenk couldn't do it in the end, but the thing that I want to mention why I think CGMA is worthwhile seems to apply to all courses:
    1. you get your lecture video each week