Home Career & Education

Your Way of Learning Game Art (Time Investment / Skill / Process)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
YF_Sticks polycounter lvl 5

Hey Polycount!

I’m new to 3D/Game Art. I absolutely love it and all your contributions motivate me to go on this journey.
I purchased Maya LT and started to learn with tutorials from Pluralsight and some Youtube. 
Right now as everything is new, I’m a little confused and overflown with information. Should I do high-poly, render, texture etc etc. Don’t even know what everything exactly means. I work a full-time job but I want to dedicate a lot of my free-time to get into Game Art. 
It would be really interesting to learn about your path, upcoming and how you learned 3D (time, effort, process i.e.) or if you could share your basic workflow. I still try to structure a lot in my head as I go along learning.

Thanks for all your insights and wisdom 

Replies

• jesusblasco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jesusblasco polycounter lvl 2
    I am a self student artist, started a year ago making my first 3D game prop with a tutorial, I loved it, so a month later I decided to take this seriously.

Sorry for the upcoming mistakes in english, not my native language.

As you know, the most important thing it's constancy and trying to achieve quality over quantity, also is asking for feedback ofc.

As I am not in a profesional level maybe I can be wrong on some advices, but atleast I try :P