Home Career & Education

Learning 3D/breaking into the industry next to a full time job?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
YF_Sticks polycounter lvl 5
Hey everyone

I'm new to the forums, game dev/art. I already found a lot of inspiring threads, so it's really cool to have an active community.
To get to my question listed in the title:

I am 23 years old and I just started learning Maya and UE4. My goal is to become a 3D Environmental Artist. Now, I work in a full time job, so when I come home I dedicate my time to learn the craft. I heard/read that it's pretty tough to get into the industry. So what do you guys think? 

It's necessary to have the fulltime job. I live in Switzerland and everything is quite expensive. So to pay rent, food, basic living etc. I have to get the money income. I would love to break into the industry and design the art for games. I find the scene really interessting and exciting. It takes a lot of time and effort, but is it worth it? Or, do you have any advice that I could follow? 

Thank you so much for the reply!

Replies

• Cerenios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cerenios null
    I'm in the exact same boat with you. I'm 25, full time work and doing 3D games stuff when I can. It's so tiring and crushing at times, especially if you're unmotivated on a precious day off. I had a mini break down over 'wasting my time' yesterday. I find allowing yourself the rest and pacing yourself is best. I can't answer your "is it worth it" question though, since I'm trying to break in too! I've just been in the loop of full-time work + tiny tiny progress for a year now. So I'm interested in what answers you get!

This is also my first post ever on a game dev form :) 
  • Joebewon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
    Welcome to the forums @YF_Sticks!
    I think you're off to the right track that you're working a full-time job while working on improving as environment artist.