Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Castle

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
stevenverx polycounter lvl 2
Hello,

*This is my first project on this forum. 
The castle was made with Maya, Substance Painter, Photoshop and Unity.
I wanted to use this project to get familiar with creating an environment for games in Unity and I wanted to start using substance painter. I am in my 2nd year of the game art course at college, so I am pretty new to everything.

The concept:

I've only created props and characters in Maya before, so I didn't know where to start. I decided to make everything in Maya, which was a huge mistake.

First version:

I showed this version to an experience environment artist, he suggest: Use the terrain tool, Make the buildings more interesting, create rock foundation for the castle and change the lightning.

Version 2

I showed him this version. I had to recolor the roofs, make the buildings less clean, change the texture of the wall and revamp the entrance. I am still working to use this feedback.

I am still working on this.

To do:
Change the center building
change the corner buildings of the wall
Change the texture of the wall

Change the color of the roofs
Create grass on the floor
Play more with the lightning

Feel free to give critique, I can use it a lot ;)

Replies

• stevenverx
    Offline / Send Message
    Removed the center building, I will make a church instead.
    And I changed the textures of the walls.

• Ashervisalis
    Offline / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey, cool castle, and welcome to Polycount!

- Roof tiles could use some grime. They're also a bit too reflective. They also feel really flat and are cut off at the edge of the roof. The castle seems to be older (moss/mold on the wall), but so many things look brand new (dock leading to the entrance, roofs, door).