Home Career & Education

What to Charge for a Crowdfunded Project?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
stitchshift polycounter lvl 6
Hey Guys,
Its been a while since I posted on here but I have a bit of a conundrum.

I have a client I have been working for since Jan 2015 which gave (what my business partner considered) a pretty weak rate of payment in the beginning. I made about £600.00 for a for a fully rigged, modelled & textured character (It was my first Freelance job since Uni so I was nervous about overcharging and I couldn't get work anywhere).

I then went into business with my friend (late 2015) who strong armed her to a £100.00 a day rate which she has continually tried to lower saying stuff like "Can you give me your best price?" etc. Despite us already stating the rate as agreed. She gave us a small amount of equity in the IP/company (10%) which she has used to try to leverage fixed rate prices on jobs which have gone WAAAAY over budget.

Under these conditions we have done numerous animations for her which involved compositing, sound, effects, etc. everything with the exception of her pretty much penning the dialogue herself. I have not been allowed to show any of this work until she "launches" the project for Kickstarter this year. Now we have to pretty much tell her what our costs are going to be for her Kickstarter enterprise.

A friend connected to the app world saw one of the animated shorts and automatically assumed we made £40.00ph each on the animation. He was shocked when he learned we were making under £13.00ph each. Especially when all revisions are included.

So now when it comes to working out the cost my business partner will not accept less then £30.00ph going forward. For me and him that makes our costs £9600.00 (£4800.00 each) per month... I guess that means I want to know if that is an acceptable amount. When you consider we pretty much do all of the roles. I mean at that rate to hire us for 8 months will cost £76800.00.