Home Technical Talk

marvelous designer vs marvelous designer for steam

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
allknighter polycounter lvl 5
Hello Polycounters!
I have decided to buy a license of marvelous designer, but then i found that steam had marvelous designer at 3/5ths of the price, with the added "for steam" at the end.

anyone know what this may entail?
or does anyone have any noteworthy experiences with buying from a 3rd party retailers?

thank you :smile:

Replies

• MatejCH
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MatejCH polycounter lvl 6
    Hi, I looked at its licence and then of steam forums because it was little bit confusing. And it looks like freelance licence. One of steam users  summarizeit here http://steamcommunity.com/app/528100/discussions/0/152390014782796075/
     1) "I'm a freelancer working on my own. Can I use MD commercially? Yes."

2) "I freelance part-time, but work for somebody else during the week? Can I use MD commercially? No. You need a full, non-Steam license."

3) "I just started a company. Can we use MD commercially? No. You need a full, non-Steam license."

4) "My company wants to buy the cheaper Steam version instead. Can they use MD commercially? No t hey cannot. They need to buy a full, non-Steam license."
  • myclay
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    myclay polycounter lvl 10
    Hello allknighter

the Steam version has the same features.
    Its cheaper because you won´t be able to upgrade to a newer version with a promotional discount.

the Steam version seems to have an always-on DRM/persistent online authentication.
    Which is if politely spoken troublesome since it opens a big can of worms.
    Just as an example; Steam servers might have small outages during the day or worse
    you have due to using a wireless connection no constant stable internet..
    Marvelous Designer will break in such occasions.
    Be wary of that Always online DRM and save often.