Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Blender] [UE4] Scene practice

null
Offline / Send Message
p0zitr0n null

Of course I posted it by mistake, and can't get it off till its finished. Srry guys, I'm editing it, please be patient! Thanks!

Introduction

Hi there everyone!
I'm kinda new here, a really short introduction won't be painful I believe. I work as a UI / UX designer at the moment, and I've started to play around with 3D art for like a year ago. Traditional / digital art always interested me, drawing and painting is really close to me.
This project is like a playground for me. I decided to prepare high quality props for game development, and I'm far from the nextgen stuff I wish to create. Don't expect fantastic areas, I'm really taking everything step by step.
However, I hope I won't giving you boring stuff, and you find some delight in my work. 

First topic I get interested in was the tessellation in UE4. Creating these awesome materials from creating high poly meshes and mapping all the textures you need, it's just a brilliant way to optimize the performance. I got kind of inspired by the tutorial of Fanny Vergne, because it shows a clear pipeline of her work.

On my print screens, you will see some elvish styled structures, those were the practice models for getting a picture about Blender. I've used Maya for a longer time, and it was a huge turn to get familiar with the UI of Blender. For the record, I already new some horrible steps I took creating those, so later on, I will recreate  them, and I will update the creation of those aswell.

I think I earned to be slapped for this wall of text, it's time to show you something after all.
Please, let me know your thoughts about my practice exercise or point out my obvious mistakes.
Thanks, p0zitr0n aka Gabor

TESSELLATION / MATERIAL CREATION

1. Creating the low poly mesh