Home Career & Education

Tipps about starting my 3d artist career ;)

Footloose93
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Footloose93 polycounter lvl 2
Hey anyone :blush:

My name is Toby and I want to tell you some little details about me first.
Currently I am studying about 3D Design (making Game Design Documents).
Also I am something in Java and C#, which I need for Unity, which is the Game Engine
I want to use.

But after all I like to learn how to make impressive 3D Models for my games.
I already used Blender for a year, tried some days in the Substance Painter and so on.

Why I want to learn that too? I already learn Design and some programming?

Because I am really impressed of these 3D Models some of you made.
Anyway, I want to be able to understand the needs and the workflow of a
3d artist to fit my design documents for them too, not just for programmers.
Also I want to be able to create some 3D Models for me and for a first look on my game ideas.

I already know some stuff about it and of course there are tons of tutorials out there.
But it would help me very much to get some opinions from you, what is the best way to really get started.

So, finally  o:), I want to ask you:

Which modelling programm is the best for me?
I know Blender quite well, but I don't think it is the ideal tool. Don't ask me why, I guess
I think there are more efficient workflows in other programms.

Also I don't like 3DsMax that much. I mean, I would give it a try if you all tell me, but for me
the interface looks like a part of a... car crash...

I also tried ZBrush. I like this programm, even when it is something different from the others.

But you need to know, I really hate it to create UV Maps. This is the worst part of it all I think.

Anyway, I guess there is no way around it.

So what I understand so far is that I want to make Low Poly Models (but they should look really detailed later).