Home Career & Education

the future of 3d modeling/modelers

annah847
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
annah847 polycounter lvl 2
hello everyone,

So I am an art student who wants to go into 3d modeling and texturing for environments. I have been working hard to create a portfolio and all, but recently I was told that 3d modeling for environments or props would not be a good career choice because of websites like turbosquid, and the fact that other countries have people that will make 3d models at a  cheaper rate than here in America.  I have been told that character modeling would be the smarter choice if I really want to get a job as a 3d modeler. I would just like to get some more opinions. Would trying to become an environment artist be an unwise choice, considering future job prospects? Will the demand for environment and prop artists drop?

Thank you.

Replies

• chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    annah847 said:
    hello everyone,

So I am an art student who wants to go into 3d modeling and texturing for environments. I have been working hard to create a portfolio and all, but recently I was told that 3d modeling for environments or props would not be a good career choice because of websites like turbosquid, and the fact that other countries have people that will make 3d models at a  cheaper rate than here in America.  I have been told that character modeling would be the smarter choice if I really want to get a job as a 3d modeler. I would just like to get some more opinions. Would trying to become an environment artist be an unwise choice, considering future job prospects? Will the demand for environment and prop artists drop?

Thank you.