Home Technical Talk

Hard surface workflow for games?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
DirtyBlueFL polycounter lvl 6
So I've been modeling for games in my undergrad for about 10 months now, and I've learned more from the internet than I have in school - go figure. But one thing I definitely want help on is my workflow for hardsurface modeling in Maya. Right now, I build the low poly model first, then I use that as a base to build the high poly model. I unwrap the low poly, create a cage from it, explode if needed, and bake.

I see a lot of people just dive right into the high poly model from the very beginning, but what I don't see is how they retopo to build a lowpoly for the final in-game asset. I am willing to bet that my workflow is actually the traditional or "correct" workflow just turned upside down. I'd really like to know how to do it the correct way, and end up with a contiguous (or close to it) mesh. A lot of the art coming out of the end of the Titanfall 2 NDA is contiguous hard surface, and it's where I want to aim my overton window. 

I understand that context and a point of reference is helpful, so to give you an idea of where I am at skill-wise, this is my artstation: 
https://www.artstation.com/artist/nicholashunter   

Replies

• DirtyBlueFL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    For example:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=da0Dgj7DBpc

How the heck does one go about retopoing this? 
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    There's no right or wrong way, there's just the end result. And there are many ways to get there:

Your current method - which is perfectly fine - model low>sub-D or chamfer(see below) for the high>use sub-D cage + topo optimise for the final asset.

Boolean + Dynamesh - manual retop or repurpose the boolean mesh for the final asset.

Chamfer using any number of tools found recently here in threads - repurpose the base mesh as final asset.