Home Career & Education

[ 3D Modelling] Everything i creates ends up unfinished ..

vertex
Offline / Send Message
Thessera vertex
Okei, i will try to keep it short ..
(idk if this is the right place to ask)
The thing is... i am aiming to become a 3D artist.. 
been working on this .. "goal"  for 2 years now, since i started learning 3D..

Problem:
When I start making something.. i spend weeks even  months  into it.. 
and by the time i have reached  the "end" ( close to finish it) ..
-  It looks craps ..since by then  i have  already improved..
...and i end up throwing it away.. xD 

The issue:
I end up with nothing to show..
How the heck am i supposed to make a portfolio :(

Any advice,tips? Q_Q

Replies

• gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Its perfectly normal to feel like that.  You get better with every piece you do.  Suck it up, and finish that thing, even if you know you can do better....then prove it with your next piece.  Build up better and better stuff, and remove your older stuff, rinse and repeat.

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    In the beginning, I rushed to finish things up. They looked kinda shitty, but I finished them. Job's done. Then for each new project, I pushed further bits by bits. I threw lots of old crappy pieces away, but it's ok. Not everything has to be a masterpiece. But most of the were finished... Most. Some I did abandon projects half-way through.

Post things up online as you make them. Let people help you finish them. 
  • Joebewon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joebewon polycounter lvl 12
    I'd say maybe make smaller goals for yourself when it comes to creating 3D.  
    If you're spending weeks and months on a character, why not try to do a small prop? 
    That way it should take you less time, and with a smaller scope it will feel more manageable than a giant project. 
  • Biomag
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Biomag sublime tool