Home Career & Education

Game Industry Vs Family Life!? Help!

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Haytch polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys, So I've been working remote for a game studio for 2 years, as an Environment Artist, Due to lack of funding they can't afford to keep that many people anymore, I have a wife who has 3 children from an ex husband, I'm 25, shes 31, I'm quite family orientated & old fashioned in the sense, I need to earn and provide, After getting into the industry (even indie) i never wanted to go back to a normal job again, Recently I applied for a few AAA studios, Was turned down by most of them (as expected), Surprisingly enough, 2 of the ones who turned me down, came back to me and asked me to go in for an interview, one is in Horsham (UK), I live in Ashford, Kent, (UK) So it's about an hour and a half drive from me, the other is in Newcastle, Both are pretty big studios, I'm more leaning towards Newcastle because I love the games they make, My wife just doesn't want to move, I've had to turn down Big opportunities from studios in Germany & Sweden because of relocation, not a lot of studios allow for remote work, or work remote but come in once or twice a week, Now that being said, I can understand both sides, my wife has her kids in school, two are teens and 1 is in primary school, shes about a year into a great job as a teacher at school working with kids with special needs, that actually triggered her to tell me something was up with me, so after a bit of a fight with the NHS i decided to go private, Found out I had ADHD, which explained why i always got bored in jobs, couldn't hold a job for more than 1 year, Another reason I can understand her side.