Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Once upon a time in Nassau

vertex
Offline / Send Message
wrigglybear vertex

Hey guys, 

This is my first time posting 2D on polycount :) 

I did an illustration piece for my portfolio to get it a bit more up to date with my current level before I applied for a concept art internship and thought I'd assemble a process thing

Because I was catering to that a little bit I went for a pirate setting and a little more hand painted style.

I've been watching a few Sergio Leone films and originally wanted to do a western but I thought i'd kind of combine the two.  I really wanted to push a strong composition and storytelling narrative and took a lot of inspiration from the climax of those films which centre around a confrontation.

Came up with the idea of a notorious pirate captain walking down the stairs into a tavern and everyone is turned to attention

Started with a 3d base to experiment with compositions and angles, fov (made in maya, rendered in marmoset) 

fhaIcvqljpg

Quick paintover, experimented with ideas. trying and failing to get the perspective right with guy walking down the stairs.

togx6mPljpg

Didn't like how big the tavern was or how high the stairs were. Old taverns seem to have very low ceilings so i just painted over and tried to cramp it up a bit. (couldn't be bothered to faff around with 3d some more). Also experimented a bit with lighting options

WNc8pLrljpg

I wanted to try working through this piece in passes so decided it would be easier to do some basic lineart instead of a direct paintover.

At this point I was figuring out more clearly what I wanted - the focal point would be in the centre of the room (framed by the shape of the room) with some kind of pirate gang celebrating around a table. I made the table circular to contrast with the surrounding boxy forms and other rectangular tables and get that kind of equality/unity for the various members around the table.