Home General Discussion

Hey guys, I need some career advice and perspective...

Vaztor
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Vaztor polycounter lvl 3
Hey everyone,
I recently got an offer from a Company A (in Military Simulation) to do 3D Modeling. It's a solid offer for me, I liked the people I interviewed with and it's a full time position. Company B (in Game Dev) recently contacted me for an interview for doing Technical Art. It's only a temporary contract, more coding oriented, and much better pay, (if I do well in the interview and get an offer that is). I studied Computer Science and currently work a programming job but I'm definitely way more passionate about art than programming.

Both are great companies to have on a resume and both are better offers than my current job but the type of work and experience would be different. Ultimately I think I would like to do character art and even sculpting for toys and collectibles, so neither of those really contributes to that goal (lol) but I'm trying to figure out how I should leverage my ability to program into this equation cause having that (and being able to do both programming and art) is valuable as well.

What would you guys do in this position, if Company B made an offer? I was just curious what all of your perspectives are. I'd also be curious to know how "technical" is technical art? I don't necessarily see myself as someone who wants to be a software developer but I do enjoy writing scripts and stuff like that.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Michael_Ingrassia
    Offline / Send Message
    Michael_Ingrassia polycounter lvl 5