Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ben Lane's Work Thread

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
BenjaminJohn polycounter lvl 4
Hello!

My name is Ben Lane and I'm currently in my final year at The University of Hertfordshire, this is a thread that I started in Second year where I plan on updating progression and what I am working on any input/feedback is more than welcome :) 

Replies

• BenjaminJohn
    Offline / Send Message
    I have a brief to recreate a room in unreal engine, I chose the bathroom from crimson peak (quick moodboard): 

And I just started a quick blockout in maya here's where I'm at so far: 

• BenjaminJohn
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's where I am at with the Crimson Peak environment, I will be coming back to it to improve some of the textures (the wooden paneling on the roof especially needs work) and the shadow maps need a lot more attention too, but I'm fairly happy with the outcome, first time using unreal so learnt a lot :) 

• BenjaminJohn
    Offline / Send Message
    Trying something different now! Making a sci-fi female pilot for another assignment, here's the concept I am using, from artstation by Yoon Lee: 

https://www.artstation.com/artist/blueart

Here are some screenshots of where I'm at so far: 

I wanted to try hard surface in zbrush so I made a low poly base for each piece of armor in maya with quad draw, then imported each into zbrush and did all the extrusions and panelling there. Some have let me know that the proportions do not completely match the concept (especially around the hips) which I will address soon :) 
  • Evaniiish
    Offline / Send Message
    Evaniiish vertex
    She looks too thin imo
  • BenjaminJohn
    Offline / Send Message
    Evaniiish said:
    She looks too thin imo
    Yeah I see where you're coming from, she is quite thin in the concept itself (especially around her elbow and waist) but the thighs and hips are definitely wider in the concept so I'll try and improve on that, thanks! :)