Home Adobe Substance

Substance Designer for multiple similar buildings?

pho
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
pho polycounter lvl 11
Hi! I'm new to Designer, and trying to integrate it in my workflow for texturing buildings. The buildings have unique UVs and textures (so they are not modular really), but have some overlaps for more optimized UV space and texel density, and generally are similar (hangars, office buildings and so on).
Firstly I thought to use Designer only for creating base textures and then texturing every asset in Painter. But maybe it would be much faster in a long distance, if I'll use only Designer?
I won't using any high-poly meshes for normal maps, and the geometry is pretty simple. Windows, doors - all of it is using only normal map (which I'll create in Designer), no additional extrudes or bevels. Generally all of the buildings will consist of two or three materials - concrete/metal walls, metal roofs. Plus windows and doors and some unique elements (#1, #3)

So, the first question: 
How would you make a mask for this elements? By adding some temporary loops and assign a different color, or just edit an SVG mask in Designer? Which way you think is faster?

The second question:
 For example I have a simple window substance (#2), I use a material transform node and just scale and move it on a right place, and then connect it to a multi-material blend. If I need a second window - I duplicate material transform node, use some blends nodes and my PC is starts to slow down.
So, Is there a way to automatically scatter my substance in a specific places on a texture? For example, I create some squares and rectangles in SVG with identical color, move it in a right place, and my window substance somehow automatically duplicates and fill every rectangle?
Or maybe there is a much more easy way to place and copy them?

And if you guys have some links for good tutorials about using Designer in a such way, I would be very grateful.