Home Contests & Challenges Archives Reallusion's 3D Character Design Contest 2016

Reallusion Character Design - 3levan

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
3levan polycounter lvl 5
I'm completely new to 3D so I thought I'd give this a try as it seems like fun!

My character is based on old references and concept I collected but I'll be making some clothing changes and adding gear to improve it.

Unfortunately not having a clue what I was doing with CC I only have one export left on the trial. I couldn't quite get the body shape I wanted (skinnier legs and flat chest) so I brought it into Zbrush as I've been mucking around in that recently.
 I really liked CC for getting a quick base with UV's (because I have no idea how to unwrap..yet!) and how easy it was to make new body morphs. I think eyelids need a lot more options , it was really easy to ruin these in Zbrush because of the lashes but there wasn't quite the control i wanted in CC.

I did a quick mock-up of the base clothes and hair just to make sure the shapes are right. I started sculpting the lips and skin but I need to learn how to export normal maps and bring it back into iClone. Trying to find tutorials tonight.

Looking forward to building awesome hair and seeing how it animates in iClone. I'm saving my final export for the fbx.

Replies

• 3levan
    Offline / Send Message
    3levan polycounter lvl 5
    Decided to do my hair in maya. I've only used fibremesh before (and not to a great deal of success yet) so I had to learn how to make and edit planes.
    Found this tutorial super awesome!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7wJnOaOKzg

• AdventDestiny
    Offline / Send Message
    AdventDestiny polycounter lvl 2
    3levan said:
    it was really easy to ruin these in Zbrush because of the lashes but there wasn't quite the control i wanted in iClone.