Home Technical Talk

Sculpting techniques in Zbrush...?

junfanbl
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
junfanbl polycounter lvl 6
I am looking for some advice from some Zbrush artists. I am trying to do a realistic sculpt of a Jaguar (animal). I am pretty new to Zbrush but I am picking up on it somewhat quickly. I have collected a lot of reference images and anatomical references as well. They have served me well. I am happy with how the body is turning out because most of the sculpting involved includes moving the geometry and adding musculature. However I am having trouble detailing the head.   I am not sure which brushes I should use to try and sculpt the nose and mouth. I can draw on the shapes of the nose and nostrils but I am not sure how to sculpt them out. The only brushes I have been using are the Clay Build up brush, Dam_Standard, and the Move brush. Can somebody suggest a workflow that will help me to more effectively sculpt the detail on the head? What brushes would be best? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. I am trying to learn as many sculpting techniques that I can.

Replies

• musashidan
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Personally, when sculpting anatomy(or even the concept sculpt phase of a hard-surface character), I use minimal brushes: clay buildup, move(or snakehook), dam standard, inflate or form soft, a little bit of standard, and that's about it. These days I might use the move brush alone for 80% of a sculpt.

In the early days of my sculpting journey I used to obsess over what brushes to use (I even remember emailing Zac Petroc with this very question) :)