Home Marmoset

Marmoset Viewer Filesize Weirdness

dan_s
null
Offline / Send Message
dan_s null
hey guys,

i'm fairly new to marmoset...finishing my 2nd viewer model right now and i have run into a weird issue.

either i'm not understanding how marmoset compiles the viewer files or there's a bug of some kind.

i loaded up my model (~35k polys) and started setting up the materials with 8k png textures exported from
substance painter just to see if i like the way it looked. did some final tweaks and then ended up with a viewer
file of about 30mb with the textures set to "unreasonable" in TB.

so time to size down and compress some of the textures right?

went into photoshop and sized down the textures and compressed them in jpg format (except for one emissive
that needs transparency). all of the textures combined now take up a little more than 10mb.
when i switched out the png files in TB with the smaller and compressed jpg files however i ended up with
a viewer file of almost 40mb!

so:
~200mb 8k png textures -> 30mb viewer
~10mb downsized and compressed jpgs  -> 40mb viewer

what am i missing here?

i did pretty much the same thing on my first viewer model and it worked nicely...managed to cut down the size
from ~35mb to ~12mb.

cheers
daniel

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Textures are automatically compressed on export, so it won't help to compress them to JPEG or PNG before loading into Toolbag. Textures are resized depending on the quality setting as well, so it generally won't be productive to resize them unless you're making them smaller than the resolution cap associated with the quality setting.

For more information on what happens on export, read this: http://www.marmoset.co/viewer/support#ex

If you need to drop your file size, you need to do some or all of the following:
    1. Drop the quality setting, this will cap the texture resolution and use more aggressive compression settings.