Home General Discussion

What does it take to be a concept artist?

whoknows23
null
I want to be a Concept Artist. I know its gonna be a tough road thatll need alot of discipline and hard work but its something ive always wanted as a career.

Im 26 years old right now and being a concept artist is something ive always thought about but swayed away from due to self doubt and the idea that you had to be somewhat born with it previously. I know shame on me. I know a little 3d, am currently a junior Graphic Designer, can draw observational drawings to a mediocre standard but currently am a complete newbie at drawing from the mind/imagination.

- How many months/years would it take to get that first job?
- What are the best and most effective ways to start self teaching and improving?
- How does one learn to draw from imagination?

Replies

• zetheros
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zetheros interpolator
    So I'm not a concept artist, but I wanted to be one when I was younger. You're correct that you'll need a lot of discipline and hard work, but also learning about current techniques, and working smart and quickly.

- How many months/years would it take to get that first job?
    - What are the best and most effective ways to start self teaching and improving?
    - How does one learn to draw from imagination?

Depends on how skilled you are compared to others, and what your portfolio looks like. Get an artstation, and see what other concept artists can produce. You'll want to get on their level at least, before being able to get a job. https://www.artstation.com/

The best way to learn concept art on your own is probably to follow online tutorials. There are some here on the polycount wiki and Feng Zhu also has a large collection of free tutorials. http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Polycount http://fengzhudesign.com/tutorials.htm