Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Animating a gimnastic girl with ribbon

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Anitlunia polycounter lvl 6
Hi! So this is my blockout animation (it needs polish, I know)  of a girl making gymnastics with a ribbon. 
I used spring magic for the ribbon movement and made some tests, and this result is the best I could get.

I know gymnastic ribbons are waay much longer but spring magic doesn't work in this case, the ribbon's movement gets messy and tangled.

I tried to use IKSpline + Flex modifier in 3DS max with no better results. I'm new at animation, maybe I'm missing something?
I need tips, resources or methods to improve the animation of the ribbon. Also any feedback on the girl animation also is welcomed :) 

Replies

• Nixellion
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nixellion polycounter lvl 7
    Well, I don't think that SpringMagic is the best tool for this job.

Approach 1: In max you'd probably achieve better results using MassFX physics, though you'd have to rig the whole chain with physics constraints, which, without scripting, would be really hard. I think there is something like MassFX Toolbox or something like that, try searching it on scriptspot. It should allow you to create and control multiple constraints at once.

Approach 2: Another approach would be through ParticleFlow and it's physics simulation. There you can dynamically create simlation objects and constraint them by distance threshold or something.

But these both approaches only apply to you if you are going to use it with game engines, or if you need a lot of artistic control over the movement of the ribbon, in a way that you can manually keyframe it where needed.

Approach 3: In any other case I'd suggest not even using bones for the rig. You can use Cloth or mCloth simulation on a polygonal ribbon object, it'll behave much more like cloth then.