Home General Discussion

Demo Reel for 2016?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
djwiley912 polycounter lvl 9
I am not sure if this the right place for  this. I would like to ask some question about everyone's opinions on Demo Reels in General and maybe some specific things as well.

From what I was taught and have heard from employers here  are somethings that I know about demo reels
-have it be no longer then 45 secs of core material (a minute when you add the first and last frames with your information)
-have your name and software you use in the start
-Best foot forward
-credit all coworkers and collaborators
-Show a range

-----
Here are somethings I am curious about. I am a modeler and lot of these questions are in that direction since many times I have only heard about compositors or animation reels.

1: Everyone has asked if I want to do Games or Films. How do you approach a question like this?
                                *I say I want to just be able to model and don't care which direction I am placed in. I think being able to model well and understand edge flow and anatomy on any scale is key to either area. With the new Game Engines the poly-count for games is almost becoming mute but on that note you still need to be aware of good edge flow; keeping form and understanding what the limitations of the game engine are. With Films you have to be aware of minuscule details and most of the time a realistic style and quality. 

2: If I have a Demo Reel of works that I did not concept myself and list the artists that I asked for permission to use their work and so on...is it okay that I don't have my own creations or as many as my own works on there?