Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hand Painted Staff -- Student Project

This is my second attempt ever doing hand painted textures. I drew up the concept myself but I did take a lot of inspiration from World of Warcraft. This particular project took me about a week to complete and I used Maya 2016 and Photoshop to do it. I'm a student at Full Sail University and am just learning how to do this stuff, so I would very much appreciate any and all critiques!

Replies

• Nomad - Nicolas Pirot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nomad - Nicolas Pirot polycounter lvl 4
    Looks pretty cool, nice job on the texturing.

A few more segments in the model wouldn't hurt though, specifically the top of the main curve.
    Some of the finer details are fully modeled, like the chain and the rings, while some other areas are still pretty low poly.
    It might help to take a step back from time to time to see how large it's actually going to be in screensize, and how important each detail is.

• tinamamiller
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks pretty cool, nice job on the texturing.

A few more segments in the model wouldn't hurt though, specifically the top of the main curve.
    Some of the finer details are fully modeled, like the chain and the rings, while some other areas are still pretty low poly.
    It might help to take a step back from time to time to see how large it's actually going to be in screensize, and how important each detail is.

Thank you so much for your input! I need to practice more with low poly and figure out where more detail is necessary, for sure. I went back in and added a few more edge loops to try and round out some of the curves a little more. Does this seem a little better?

• Zodd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zodd polycounter lvl 11
    First, great job on painting the texture, looks really cool.