Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sphere Light Studies

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
miguelnarayan polycounter lvl 8
Hello :) here is my latest light study homework, I can't spot any mistakes myself, besides maybe some sloppiness on the cast shadow on the ground? But I think the overall point is there? I saw a gradual increase in quality from the top to the bottom, as they were born... but I'm not an expert, and someone told me I should invest my time in color and light and improve my painting skills from now on instead of drawing. so C&C welcome. :) Have a good day!

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    Saturated colours won't drop saturation as they get brighter unless over exposed. It should look more like this.

• miguelnarayan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you, I will keep at it :)
  • RN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RN sublime tool
    It's not just a light study, it's also a material study. How rough and porous a surface is will influence how it reflects light. Other properties like having a thin film of varnish or oil will also affect it (because of interference).

What are those spheres made of, and what lighting conditions are they under (like what kind of lamps or light sources)?
    If they are all of the same material then you can do something like just paint one with a lot of care to make it look good, then duplicate and change the hue to make the others. The falloff of light should be exactly the same.

This is a Blender render with different materials.

I like to look at these for inspiration:
    - http://polycount.com/discussion/141023/material-studies
    - http://vesner.deviantart.com/art/100-texture-studies-360570335
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message