Home Contests & Challenges Archives CS:GO Weapon Finish Contest

PC-CSGO | Geometric Error | AK47

Intro:

Well hello there, thank you for taking your time to take a look at my weapon design post. I would first like to say a huge thank you to Valve and Polycount for creating such an awesome competition and opportunity. And I am still quite new to the Polycount website, but I must say that the community and content on here is awesome! Keep it up guys! Now that that is out of the way, time to show off my (hopefully not horrible) design! Oh and, I love criticism, as it shows where I can improve my design!

Day 1:

So today I decided to create another skin post as I had another idea which I think might look good in the game. So I began with my research as usual and design drafts. So here is the idea I came up with:

As you can see, the idea of mine is to have an 'explosion' of polygons/triangles (most likely will be triangles). I am still not sure how to approach this as in the process, but I will decide that tomorrow, sorry for not having much to show today, but hopefully tomorrow there will be more to look at.

Replies

• arcticnoah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Day 2:

So over the night I decided to make a program that would generate triangles, 'rotate' them and make them spread out so it look like an explosion. I created this in around 30 minutes in a language called processing, mainly because it is quite easy to create the effect I wanted with toxi's toxiclibs library. Here is the code:

import toxi.geom.*;
    import toxi.color.*;
    import toxi.util.*;
    float MAX_SIZE = 100;
    float BASE_RADIUS = 0.8;
    Vec2D BASE = new Vec2D(0.8, 0.5);
    ColorTheme t;
    void setup() {
      size(4096, 1024);
      smooth();
    }
    void draw() {
      t = new ColorTheme("test");
      t.addRange("soft ivory", 0.5);
      t.addRange("intense goldenrod", 0.25);
      t.addRange("warm steelblue", 0.15);
      t.addRange("fresh teal", 0.05);