Home Technical Talk

To work with SubstancePainter 2 or something else?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
MediumSolid polycounter lvl 8
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to texturing stuff and what not, but when I saw SP2 I thought I'd give it a try since it's able to give almost seamless overlap in textures and it also has a lot of generators that make your life easier and your workflow/texturing faster. But like always, there's a catch, since this program isn't the most hardware friendly software out there I've noticed my PC struggles a little bit with it, especially when the real time display resolution is set to 2k. So in that case, should I bump down my real time display resolution to 512 and when I think I'm done with texturing, I could scale the resolution back to 2k to see how it turned out and then export it at a much higher resolution like 4k? Or should I just switch to more traditional texturing in 2D softwares like Gimp or Photoshop?

I've got to admit something. I've never actually tried to switch to 2D UV map texturing in SP2, maybe that will increase the performance of my PC? Ohh yeah, and the things I need to texture are mostly hardsurface stuff like handgrenades, various small arms etc.

These are my specs:

AMD Radeon R9 270
AMD FX(tm)-8300 Eight-Core Processor 3.30 GHz
RAM 8GB DDR3
MotherBoard MB AM3+ 970, 2xPCIe/DDR3/SATA3/USB3.0/GLAN/7.1

Replies

• Jerc
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jerc interpolator
    Just going from 8GB of ram to 16 or 24 should make a HUGE difference, and will make you life easier for any kind of work, not only Painter.
  • MediumSolid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, I wasn't hopping to hear that since it costs money. But it's the reality we live in, so I guess I'll have to spend some more money.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range