Home Contests & Challenges Archives CS:GO Weapon Finish Contest

PC - CSGO | MP9 - Dilemma (WIP)

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi!

This is my first attempt creating a weapon skin, I had planned on doing so in some free time, but never quite got around to it, but when I heard about this comp I thought no better time than now to have a go..

I have started today, May 21st and haven't left myself much time to finish, but I believe I will do so before the deadline if all goes to plan!

My design is for the MP9, which is a gun I use quite often in the game and had always wished there was more variety when it came to skins for the weapon. so I was excited to see the MP9 was a gun included in this competition.

My initial thoughts pre-design, like everyone else, was hopefully design an MP9 skin I would want in my inventory, and not feel binded by competition rules and design something for the sake of it.

The first thing that came to mind when i heard the competition was 70's/80's Sci-Fi themed was the 1976 movie "Logan's Run". As much as I tried brainstorming other ideas I always came back to it, so it was an easy decision to influence my design around it.. I really wanted to feature the iconic "crystal on the palm" which is synonymous with the film, and has influenced many other Sci-Fi Films & TV since.

Initial concepts were just to include the crystal alone, but it doesn't have the same impact as it being visualised on the palm of the hand. I believe it means a lot more when visualised this way. At the moment the art is merely place-holder

I took a photo of my own hand, and how I wanted it positioned & sketched from there.. at the moment both the hand and crystal are place-holders.. but seeing it on the 2D projection the composition seems to works nicely... i have yet to to test my design on the workbench, and plan on doing so soon