Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Final year project - your opinions

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
LeeMeredith polycounter lvl 7
Hello I'm moving into the final year of University and will have two modules dedicated to two projects, one is a portfolio piece and one is a project for example setting up my animations in ue4. Not many details have made it to us yet but I'm considering creating a boss fight in ue4, with all the animations (either first or third person for player) created by me and then implemented and setup in ue4 by me.

My lecturer said I could do that but I have limited ue4 knowledge and only 24 weeks, do you guys think it's possible? Last time I tried setting up blueprints in Ue4 all I could find was unanswered questions and very few tutorials. I've seen each previous year before me and they all do insane amounts and end up with sub-par results and I want to break that trend.

I'm open to suggestions for any project you think would be suitable for the time frame, I was also thinking of interactive death animations (like Doom) or setting up a parkour style locomotion system.

Also what I create will be showcased at the end of University to potential employers, which is why I'm trying to do something that will impress.

Thanks for any replies.

Replies

• Rmunday
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rmunday polycounter lvl 9
    I reckon the simplest within the time frame would be the Parkour system, there are plenty of tutorials regarding triggering climbs, falls and so on. It would be a large amount of motion graph work.