Home Technical Talk

Overview of workflow for environment artist

polygon
Offline / Send Message
yukonwanderer polygon
I'm just getting into the world of video game art, coming from being a land architect.  I'm finding all the programs and workflows I see posted somewhat overwhelming/confusing.  There are so many programs out there and different people seem to do things a little differently in their workflows, and I was hoping someone could give me a general run-down of the typical workflow an environment artist would use.

From watching various tutorials and reading articles and the forums, I've been able to piece this together so far (please correct me):

1. use 3d modelling software to create the assets/evironment (eg. 3dmax, zbrush)
2. use these same programs to create normals, ao, unwrap models etc.
3. create textures in photoshop 
4. bring into modeling program
5. create low-poly version of model
6. bake the high poly version onto the low poly version
7. apply textures in rendering program like marmoset - or render in game engine like Unreal?

So many people use different programs, things like substance painter, I've heard houdini mentioned (I don't know what that is yet), etc.  Typically what does an environment artist (working on AAA games) use to create environments?  Is a lot of it not modeled, but instead mapped and rendered? 

I have a lot to learn and would like to focus on the main most important programs that every environment artist should know.

Thanks for any help guys.

Replies

• Fansub
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fansub sublime tool
    Here's an ordered list with the most used softwares for each task.Keep in mind that all of these tools can do pretty much the same thing.Some are faster in certain areas and slower in others.

- Modeling/Unwrapping : This is where you would model your high and low poly assets,unwrap them,create the blockout geometry for a level,etc...
    Software : Maya, 3Ds Max,Modo,Zbrush, Blender,etc...