Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Drawingmoose's Journey: Intro to Environment Painting

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
DrawingMoose polycounter lvl 9
Hi everyone,

being really humbled and inspired by these great 'Journey' threads, I thought I'd share some of my coursework from Learn Squared's Intro to Environment Painting. Small introduction about myself: I'm a student in The Netherlands and hold a part-time job as concept artist in a game studio. I'm following this course to build more portfolio assets and get back in touch with the art fundamentals (and because it's super fun).

The first assignment is to deconstruct a few Greek, Roman or Egyptian architectural elements from photography. Then draw that element from different perspective angles.

Leptis Magna

Tempio Castori

Athen's Treasury and Arch of Trajan in Timgad

Any critique or pointers would be much appreciated! I'll post the second part of this assignment as soon as it's done.

Stay awesome!

Replies

• omer_s
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    omer_s polycounter lvl 7
    looks fantastic man
  • Triksterr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Triksterr polycounter lvl 3
    Awesome stuff man great use of perspective. If I had one little bitty niggle its the first image top left drawing it feels like a head on perspective but then the opposite doorway is on the left and the shadow is being cast heavy on the left something seems a bit off. Your 3 point perspective is awesome that to me is one of the harder ones to make look right but you nailed it.
  • DrawingMoose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hello again,

thanks for the feedback and kind words @tricksterr and @omer_s ! The second part of this assignment is to make a few sketches with an ancient architectural style. I timed myself to stick below 20 minutes, though some of these are no more than 10 minutes. They're done without any direct reference, I'm just using the things I've learned in the previous part.