Home Contests & Challenges Archives CS:GO Weapon Finish Contest

PC-CSGO | [UNTITLED 1] | AK-47/M4A4 (WIP)

Intro:

Well hello there, thank you for taking your time to take a look at my weapon design post. I would first like to say a huge thank you to Valve and Polycount for creating such an awesome competition and opportunity. And I am still quite new to the Polycount website, but I must say that the community and content on here is awesome! Keep it up guys! Now that that is out of the way, time to show off my (hopefully not horrible) design! Oh and, I love criticism, as it shows where I can improve my design!

Day 1:

First of I want to let of my frustration that I had for around 4 days, as I had 'technical' difficulties with 3D-Coat's projection painting before today. I had major issues with the way the image would be distorted on to the weapon's mesh and UVs. Thankfully, Coridium (creator of the Asiimov skin series), uploaded an awesome new tutorial about how to do projection painting in my favorite 3D software, Blender. Now why am I telling you all this, well because I kinda wanted to start this project/design quite a bit earlier, and maybe someone who is reading this is in a similar situation, so here is the link to his tutorial in case anyone is interested.

Now to the good bit, the designing process! So I did some research around the internet and found quite a few inspirational artworks/images, which I decided to combine into a mood board, as you can see here:

Now I am aware that not all of it is from the 70s/80s, but its not reflecting my final design in anyway. Its is just a way to not be distracted by other things and focus on the design. So I began to draw some extremely drafty ideas, most of them are really just pointless, but at least I was trying!