Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Art Test.

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Haytch polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys! I've not been here in a while, I'm working for a Studio in Spain now, I was approached by another company I applied for a while ago and I'm doing an Art test at the moment.... I could really Use some Critique... 
First of all. thanks in advance. second... the dentist chair I did I feel that it may be a bit 'blocky' however, I've never done furniture before so it's litterally out of my comfort zone.
and also I'm not sure what kind of poly count is reasonable for such items, the dentist chair final piece is 8K poly, I could probably get it down but I've probably used the most obvious technique and deleted all edges for the chair and used normal mapping and height maps for it. The same with the light, Not to sure about it, I feel it's good but It could be better, the engine is not the best render for this because of dynamic TOD and light source manouvering with total Illum and some other bits.

I'm blabering on now, The images are PNG sorry It's late otherwise I'd try re-save them all as JPEG.

so this is the scene that I was given to make, I was told to focus on the chair and the light more than the room and other props

and this is what I have so far, Straight off the bat THE GLASS WON'T BLOODY FOG like in this picture, Not sure how to fake it. Secondly, I added some bricks to the floor etc to try fill out the scene a bit more, The door I didn't really even bother with as you can see. Although the chair looks blocky it does slightly match, But I Can't seem to get the aspects to match up. is this a big issue?

so Here's a Marmoset Render of the chair.

Low poly on the Left - High poly on the Right.

Here's a Wire.

Dentist Light, Again Low poly left, High poly Right.

Wire.

A Quick Render of the Trolley

so what do you guys think?

Replies

• BeardedMike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BeardedMike polycounter lvl 7