Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Student portfolio

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
anathen polycounter lvl 8
Hey everyone!
I'm a third year student making my first online portfolio and would love some advices and critics :)
Since I'm studying in Tokyo some of the text is in Japanese but the rest is mostly english.
Thanks!

http://nicolasswijngedau.wix.com/portfolio

Replies

• Meloncov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Meloncov greentooth
    So you definitely have some cool looking pieces. My two big concerns is that the anatomy looks a little bit off on the face of your human character (though my own anatomy knowledge isn't strong enough to pinpoint exactly where the problem is), and pretty much all of your materials look really flat. Give your spec/roughness maps some more love.

It's also probably a good idea to include at least one female character in a character art portfolio.
  • Thessera
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thessera vertex
    Some general tips for portfolio:
    1. Adding your characters into a scene, makes your works looks much more finish.
    2. Variation, in both style and models.
    Improvements you can do on your existing characters:
    - More Shap Details.
    - Variation in your textur: More "drit" and imperfections in the textur.
    - Don't be afraid to use more colours.
    - Use specular/Light and roughness maps, it will improve your models greatly.
  • anathen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Amaury said:
    I think a better lighting would be needed as your renders feel dull and thus your characters can't reach their full potential. The axe that your last character is wielding looks rushed. Not a big fan of the harsh noise in the japanese alley render. Try to include wireframes and texture breakdowns as well. And you could merge the skills and about sections together.
  • Amaury
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Amaury polycounter lvl 7