Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Sci-fi Rifle

null
Offline / Send Message
Alexsec null
Hello guys.

The last couple days I've been working on a sci-fi Rifle. Here are some rought renders I took.

This evening/tomorrow I'll be working on the uv's. I'll texture the weapon using Substance Painter as soon as I can.

This rifle is based on a concept by Kris Thaler, here is his Artstation portfolio: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/B1Zxz

I'm a student so any feedback is really appreciated. 

I'll update this post as soon as I have the uv's.

Thank you.

Replies

• Dethling
    Offline / Send Message
    Dethling polycounter lvl 11
    Before I would move to the UV-work I would do the high poly. Sometimes you get a new view on some areas while doing the high poly and have to change the low poly based on this, then some of your UV work is wasted.
  • Alexsec
    Offline / Send Message
    Alexsec null
    Hey guys, a little update.

After doing the high poly as @Dethling mentioned and baking some maps(AO, Curvature, Position and Thickness) I started texturing the weapon un Substance Painter. 

Here are a couple of renders with some basic materials, now is time to add the details. What do you guys think of these materials and the work so far?

• Dethling
    Offline / Send Message
    Dethling polycounter lvl 11
    Can we get a look at the high poly version? your edges are looking very sharp.

For the color sheme I would balance the colors a little more (some lighter parts in the front, some darker at the back).
    Also try to look at the model like in the real world:
    - Which parts are seperate? seperate parts often means different materials
    - What's the purpose of the part? purpose often define the material (metal for moveable parts, plastic for casings, leather/cloth for shock pads etc.)
    - Which parts are painted? make it sense that they are painted?