Home General Discussion

Question: what makes a good candidate for game design jobs?

Hi Everyone,

Hope you’re all well.

I'm in my final year at university and looking into employment options for when I graduate. Although I have a keen interest and skills in programming I have decided to focus more on game design. Obviously, everyone has to start somewhere and I'm wondering how your journeys began when trying to apply for jobs within the game development industry?

Also if you are an employer within the games development industry I would be more than appreciative if you could outline the skills you would expect from a games design graduate?

Much appreciated!

Martyn

Replies

• Kwramm
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator
    Have you visited recruitment websites from Blizzard, EA, Ubi, etc? Collecting job ads should give you a very good picture of currently relevant skills. Blizzard also have a page with background info which type of content they would like to see in portfolios for particular positions.
  • Shrike
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    Game design is hard getting a job. Many people want to do it, because it seemingly requires no practical skills and people that cant do art and neither can programm or anything want to be idea guys for games. There is not much to expect, you should try to convince them why you deserve to be called a game designer. There must be a reason why you deserve a job, just build opon that.
    You can also specialize on things, leveldesign, monetization, etc and create documents, articles and or prototypes.
    Its best if you can also show practical skills not only theorethical stuff.
  • slipsius
    Game DESIGN jobs are not junior positions. It is probably the hardest position to get straight out of school. Damn near impossible.