Home General Discussion

Graduating Industrial Design, Looking into Entertainment Design

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hi everyone,

I am a graduating student from Humber College, Toronto and for the past 4 years I been focused on the transportation design sector in the industrial design program. I really enjoyed my time learning in the field but I question myself really wanting to work there for the rest of my life. I always appreciated the character and environment design in cinematic and games ever since I was a kid and I was thinking today would be a good time to develop a portfolio towards this field.

So what I am asking is what does this particular industry want to see in my portfolio from this design switch and how can I direct to their appeal?

Thank you

Replies

• EliasWick
    Offline / Send Message
    EliasWick polycounter lvl 9
    Hello Kvudesign!
    First of: I have no experience in this field and I am really bad at making character. So, take my words with a grain of salt.

If I were to hire someone I would try to find someone with a specific style that would fit my game or my project. So, what do you like to do, realistic, pixelated, cartoon'y art? Focus on figuring that out.
    The other problem that you might run into is that you have to choose and focus on a specific field since character and environmental design are huge subjects. Find your strengths. If you notice your are equally good at creating characters and environment, choose a path to become an expert at it. For a small company it's great to have a multi talented person, especially when you are working for yourself. Larger studios will try to find someone that is an expert at a certain thing.