Home General Discussion

Why are you successful?

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Hello, I am a student studying Game Design and am in need of those with experience in the creative industry.
Why are you successful?
Seems like a simple question but usually there is a lot more to it than "Just do A and then do B" and I would like to know your personal experiences.
How did you start out?
What inspired your journey?
Why did you keep going?
What is the 'end game'?
What is some advice you could give to the novices?

Please and thank you!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Besides the answers you'll get, for more insight you should read through some of these threads:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Game_Industry
  • DaleRutland
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you so much!
  • Geezus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Geezus mod
    I think a lot of us got into the industry with equal parts luck, determination, and networking. There is often a "right time/right place" aspect to landing your first industry job.

Q: How did you start out?
    A: Attended art school. Utilized my time at college by spending nearly every day (open-close) at the campus, working on my art, sitting in on classes I wasn't signed up for, working on personal projects, spending time on community forums such as Polycount, and entering contests/challenges. I was fortunate enough to, through networking on community sites, catch wind of an entry level position at a AAA studio with a personal referral from a friend. Landed the job, etc.

Q: What inspired your journey?