Home General Discussion

What are the main differences between the game and film Industry's?

dosit
vertex
Offline / Send Message
dosit vertex
Hey guys I'm new to 3d and just wondering what are the differences between working at film studios and game studios. Which is the bigger and which has more jobs at this time?

Replies

• Bletzkarn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bletzkarn polycounter lvl 6
    dosit said:
    Hey guys I'm new to 3d and just wondering what are the differences between working at film studios and game studios. Which is the bigger and which has more jobs at this time?
    Well in Australia there are heaps of jobs for Film and Advertising where as there's almost nothing for game artists. (handful of jobs per year).

I think the main difference is games is real-time rendering where as film and advertising is proccessed rendering so in Film your poly counts and textures can be a lot larger. The programs you would be using are totally different (not for modelling but for implementation) I think it comes down to what you prefer. If you enjoy creating worlds, spaces and experiences it's games. If you enjoy making things look really really good and as realistic as one can then film.
  • Kwramm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kwramm interpolator