Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio Critique] Environment Artist

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
degrathy polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys, i'd like to introduce my portfolio and actually progress of my gamearts.
I wish to get feedbacks and maybe some tips, because i have a lot of problems with materials and concepting.
So what i've got for ~1 year of self-education.
I always don't want to hide something and for every model i add marmoset viewer, so you can probably see more in Artstation.

Subplasma gun. Made on Karanak's concept.

Sci-Fi Door

Sci-fi Corridor
In artstation i added every prop of the scene and you can see it in marmoset.

Ballista, or crossbow for projecting heavy missiles, 1588.

Replies

• degrathy
  • tomenjerry
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tomenjerry polycounter lvl 6
    You do a better job than me, making (semi) realistic looking stuff. And I'm by no means an expert. But... I think the bottom scene, the desert one looks a little empty, the grass and rocks seem to come a bit out of nowhere, maybe some mid sized rocks to tie it a bit together?
  • Doxturtle
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Doxturtle polycounter lvl 8
    I think adding some ground material around the rocks to transitions from rock to sand could look good
  • Jaston3D
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jaston3D polycounter lvl 8
    You seem to have a pretty solid understanding I think that the thing that is lacking the most is your texturing. Everything looks pretty flat and boring in color and roughness. Try to add more roughness variation especially in your sci fi corridor. The other thing that sticks out a lot is that the cliff scene is really monochromatic making it look a little dull I think it could benefit with a good second color to accent all the tan.
  • degrathy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message