Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Ps: The struggle of a Digital Art Beginner - Need Criticism & Advise

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Noizedrop polycounter lvl 4
Hey Guys,

First a little Introduction about myself...
I'm a silent reader for a good while now and i try to become a better artist since a pretty long time now... the problem is i never really practiced that much...i only studied alot of theory but never actually painted alot because i failed way too hard everytime i tried...somehow i managed to find motivation and started practicing harder than ever before.

If you want to know more about my background (beware the wall of text)
I'm 26 now and working as a professional Gamedesigner since 4 Years. I studied Game Development (mainly programming) and was a music producer for some years. I basically have most skills i need to create games completly on my own but Art was my biggest weakness all the time...but at the same time my biggest interest! I've always wanted to express myself through creating Game-art but was never able to achieve the Skill-Level I desired.

I do a shitload of Tutorials and know most of the technical stuff but when it comes to practice i failed pretty hard in the past...i always focussed to much on theory instead of simply practicing. I always believed i'm not ready yet and need to know before i can actually "practice" successfully.

currently I'm really on a beginner level. Mostly i struggle with the actual painting and colors. I don't want to give up on this anymore and keep at it no matter what it costs.
My Goal is to be able to create my own Game-Art in a Painterly / Hand-painted Style
This means from Concept to finished Game Asset (later with sculpting involved for normal maps..but for the start diffuse only)

Currently i force myself to just draw some pieces no matter how hard i suck at it...
Orignally i wanted to post this piece way later but i stumbled upon a little problem.