Home Contests & Challenges Archives Allegorithmic's the Beast

The Beast: Eastern Concept

TooManyDemons
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
TooManyDemons polycounter lvl 3
I decided to do the Beast from the fairy tale but in an eastern flavor, with the tattered/tarnished garb of a noble warrior. I thought it would be a neat twist. I want him to look ferocious, but retain some relate-able softer emotion; it will be a difficult model like I've never done before.

Here is my first initial sketch (done in GIMP). I'll do some more concept work, and some silhouette sketches before I begin the model. If it's done right, I think this idea could be really awesome.

Replies

• TooManyDemons
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • TooManyDemons
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I decided to go with a more lion-like appearance, to better resemble the classic Chinese statues.
  • TooManyDemons
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Before I begin some design work on the Beast's torso and clothing, I need to know his posture. I did some quick sketches and made a few rows to look at.

I like 2, 8, and 12 the most so far.
  • lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    Nice progress, I like the iterative process you have going on here.
  • TooManyDemons
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you :) I want to make a really great model. The contest time frame is generous so I'll take my time and do this carefully.
  • TooManyDemons
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I decided on a more upright posture, but keeping the backward hump as a mane of hair that would tail off into a long ponytail.

I know he looks like a wookie in this picture. And I'm definitely trying to avoid the Kung Fu Panda look.... This main sketch is about his clothing/armor... I think I'd like his head to be a lot larger.